© JP Parienté pour Institut du Cerveau - ICM

Open / close summary

Governance designed for efficiency and flexibility

Paris Brain Institute chose a governance structure that is built on a strong partnership between the public and private sectors, as reflected in the membership of its board of directors and management committees. They ensure that the Paris Brain Institute structure and resources are matched to its scientific goals. By implementing controls to ensure efficient management and regularly assessing the progress and performance of teams, its management team guarantees continued excellence. Paris Brain Institute adheres to a policy of full transparency with respect to its partners and publicly discloses information about its responsibilities and results in its annual report.

Board of Directors

College of the founders

  • Gérard Saillant, President
  • Jean Todt, Vice-President,
  • Serge Weinberg, President of Weinberg Capital Partners, Treasurer of Paris Brain Institute
  • Jean Glavany, Former Minister
  • Jean-Pierre Martel, Attorney

College of qualified personalities

  • Philippe Menasché, Professor of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery at Univerité de Paris
  • Richard Frackowiak, Emeritus Professor at University College London
  • Elisabeth Tournier-Lasserve, Professor of medical genetics at Université de Paris

College of full members

  • Bernard Poulain, Scientific deputy director of INSB and representative of the National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS)
  • Didier Samuel, representative of the National Institute for Health and Medical Research (INSERM)
  • Bruno Riou, Dean and representative of Sorbonne University
  • Nicolas Revel, Director of Relations with Universities and Research Organisations and representative of Paris Hospital Administration (AP-HP)

College of the Friends of the Foundation

  • Maurice Lévy
  • Christian Schmidt de la Brélie
  • Martine Assouline

Government Commissioner

  • Jean-Marie Paulot

Scientific Advisory Board

Pr Dimitri Kullmann — Président, Clinical & Experimental Epilepsy UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology, Royaume-Uni

Pr Christian Buchel,  Institut für Systemische Neurowissenschaften Universitätsklinikum – Hamburg, Allemagne

Pr Adrienne Fairhall, Department of Physiology and Biophysics, Department of Physics and Department of Applied Mathematics, Washington University, USA

Pr Tamas Gabor, University of Szeged, Department of Physiology, Anatomy and Neuroscience, Hongrie

Pr Magdalena Goetz, LMU Department of Physiological Genomics Helmholz Center Munich, Institute Stem Cell Research, Allemagne

Pr Masud Husain, Wellcome Trust Principal Fellow ‐ Nuffield Dept Clinical Neuroscience -University of Oxford, Royaume-Uni

Pr Sabine Kastner, Princeton Neuroscience Institute, USA

Pr Giovanna Malluci, Department of Clinical Neurosciences, University of Cambridge, Royaume-Uni

Pr Eve Marder, Victor and Gwendolyn Beinfield, Brandeis University, USA

Pr Carmen Sandi, Laboratory of Behavioral Genetics ‐ Brain Mind Institute – EPFL de Lausanne, Suisse

Pr Erin Schuman, Goethe University Frankfurt, Allemagne

Pr Mikael Simons, Institute of Neuronal Cell Biology (TUM‐NCB) Technical University Munich German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases (DZNE), Germany


Audit Committee

The Audit Committee helps the Board of Directors oversee the management of the foundation as concerns financial information, accounting, risk management and investment policy.

The members of the Audit Committee are:

  • Mr. Serge Weinberg, President;
  • Mrs. Claire Giry ;
  • Mr. Jean Glavany;
  • Mr. Jean-Pierre Martel.


Management committee

The Executive Management carries out the policy defined by the Board of Directors of Paris Brain Institute. The Director General, named by the Board of Directors, directs a Steering Committee composed of 5 members.

Pr. Alexis Brice, Executive Director of Paris Brain Institute and the Joint Research Unit (UMR)

Dr Brian Lau, Scientific director, Platforms director and Deputy UMR Director

Pr Catherine Lubetzki, Medical Director

Corinne Fortin, Secretary General of Paris Brain Institute and the Joint Research Unit (UMR)

Jean-Louis Da Costa, Director of Communication and Development